Takeover by Lisa Black is the first book in the new “Theresa MacLean” thriller series. Publisher: William Morrow, August 2008

In the tradition of Kathy Reichs and Jeffery Deaver, a talented novelist introduces a gutsy forensic investigator caught in the middle of an explosive crisis

Early one Thursday morning, forensic scientist Theresa MacLean is called to the scene of a gruesome murder. The body of a man has been found on the front lawn of a house in suburban Cleveland, the back of his head bashed in. Although it’s not the best start to her day, Theresa has been through worse. What unfolds during the next eight hours, though, is nothing she could ever have imagined.

Downtown at the Federal Reserve Bank, her police detective fiancé is taken hostage with six others in a robbery masterminded by two clever criminals. When she arrives at the scene, Theresa discovers that the police have brought in the city’s best hostage negotiator: handsome, high-profile Chris Cavanaugh. He hasn’t lost a victim yet, but Theresa wonders if he might be too arrogant to save the day this time around.

When her fiancé is injured, she seizes the opportunity to trade places with him. Once on the inside, she will use all her wiles, experience, and technical skills to gain control of the situation. But what initially appears to be a bank heist turns into something far more complex and deadly, and Theresa must decide how much more she is willing to sacrifice in order to save the lives of innocent people as well as her own.

When her fiancé is wounded in a hostage situation, Theresa risks her life to save his by trading places.  Now begins a cat and mouse game where Theresa hopes to come out a survivor.  This was a good thriller with some surprise twists. My rating: 5 stars

*new-to-me author

%d bloggers like this: