Daily Archives: June 29, 2014

WEEKLY ROUND-UP: No. 26

Weekly Roundup* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This week on dru’s book musings

June 30: Margaret Benson by Nancy Lynn Jarvis
July 1: Georgia Kelly by Jennifer McAndrews – Stained Glass #1
July 2: Carlton Smythe by Donald Bain
July 3: Eve Angelotta by Shelley Costa – Miracolo #2
July 4: Author Showcase with Amanda Kyle Williams
July 5: Stephen Rangel by Laurie Cass – Bookmobile Cat #2
July 6: Sasha Patterson by Phoebe Fox – Breakup Doctor #1

Last week on dru’s book musings

Recent contest winners

  • Night of the Living Thread by Janet Bolin – Dotty K.
  • Razing the Dead by Sheila Connolly – Nancy R.
  • Lethal Journal by Sandra Carey Cody – Becky P.
  • Death in Perspective by Larissa Reinhart – Sue F.
  • Hot Fudge Frame Up by Christine DeSmet – Michelle B.
  • Checkered Crime by Tonya Kappes – Karen D.

Recently posted on dru’s book musings

  • The Diva Wraps It Up by Krista Davis
  • Blessed are the Dead by Kristi Belcamino

At The Request Of…For Review

  • The Black Hour by Lori Rader-Day
  • Hit and Run by Sandra Balzo

Reading Round-Up

  • June 2014: 19 books
    • 12 cozy mysteries
    • 5 traditional mysteries
    • 2 suspense/thriller
  • Year to Date: 118 books

Follow dru’s book musing on Facebook for book giveaways, contests, posting about discounted books and some of my reading musings.

My Musing ~ Blessed are the Dead by Kristi Belcamino

Blessed Are The DeadBlessed are the Dead by Kristi Belcamino is the first book in the new “Gabriella Giovanni” mystery series. Publisher: Witness Impulse, June 2014

To catch a killer, one reporter must risk it all …

San Francisco Bay Area newspaper reporter Gabriella Giovanni spends her days on the crime beat, flitting in and out of other people’s nightmares, yet walking away unscathed. When a little girl disappears on the way to the school bus stop, her quest for justice and a front-page story leads her to a convicted kidnapper, Jack Dean Johnson, who reels her in with promises to reveal his exploits as a serial killer. But Gabriella’s passion for her job quickly spirals into obsession when she begins to suspect the kidnapper may have ties to her own dark past: her sister’s murder.

Risking her life, her job, and everything she holds dear, Gabriella embarks on a quest to find answers and stop a deranged murderer before he strikes again.

Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and Laura Lippman’s Tess Monaghan series!

This riveting and fast-paced drama quickly became a page-turner that was hard to put down in this well executed tome. The non-stop action propelled this story to heighten intensity with each scene read as I became more involved in the drama unfolding on the page. The author did a great job in presenting this mystery with a cast of characters, in particular Gabriella, who is vulnerable and flawed that you’ll root for in their pursuit of justice served. This is a great read and I can’t wait to read Blessed are the Meek, the next book in this terrific series.

The Diva Wraps It Up by Krista Davis

The Diva Wraps it UpThe Diva Wraps It Up by Krista Davis is the eighth book in the “Domestic Diva” mystery series. Publisher: Berkley Prime Crime, June 2014

The holidays are domestic diva Sophie Winston’s favorite time of year. But this season, there seem to be more mishaps than mistletoe. First, Horace Scroggins tumbles from a balcony during his office Christmas party. Then, Sophie’s neighbor takes a fall from his ladder while decorating his roof with lights. But it’s the cookie swap that really starts her wondering who’s naughty or nice.

Sophie arrives at the annual event with high spirits and thirteen dozen chocolate-drizzled gingersnaps. But when an argument erupts and a murder ensues, it becomes clear that the recent string of events is anything but accidental. Now Sophie has to make a list of suspects…and check it twice!

I truly love this series and I’m so happy at the adventures the author takes me on with Sophie, Nina, Natasha and Mars. In this light fare secret lies causes havoc on neighbors when, once again, Sophie finds a dead body. . . in Natasha’s garage. With a list long of suspects, the author presents some twists and turns with the biggest surprise coming with the method of demise. Bravo and a job well done by the author. Krista keeps this series fresh and it’s always a pleasure to visit Old Town, Virginia. This is a well written whodunit that was both engaging and entertaining and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for Sophie and her friends in this delightfully charming series.