My Musing ~ Gone by Midnight and Other Stories by Joyce and Jim Lavene

Gone by Midnight and Other Stories by Joyce and Jim Lavene is a collection of 13 short stories. February 2016

Gone By MidnightFans of Joyce and Jim Lavene will thrill at this collection of thirteen short stories—many are set in the worlds of their national bestselling mystery series, including the Missing Pieces Mysteries, the Renaissance Faire Mysteries, the Retired Witches Mysteries, and an upcoming mystery novel!

These stories contain the elements of mystery and fantasy the Lavenes are famous for, as well as some new things their readers have never seen. Several stories feature characters interacting with ghosts, magic, and the supernatural—the healing woman in “Courtship;” the Civil War widow in “One with the Darkness;” the city girl who summons a wizard from the past in “The Magician and the Sorceress/Accountant;” and the young introvert in “Aunt Edna” who finds her calling with help from a ghostly visitor.

Poignant, charming, and captivating, Joyce and Jim Lavene bring their characteristic wit and heart to these stories and introduce each one with a passage about its origin or how it ties into the universe they’ve created. Gone by Midnight is a treasury of tales that will delight the mind and touch the heart from one of the most prolific writing duos of our time.

This is a nice collection of short stories that fans of Joyce and Jim Lavene should not miss. There are stories with ghosts, there’s magic, there’s a bit of fantasy and a story that touched my soul. I liked that each story was diverse yet blended in how they were presented. This was a good read and I enjoyed how different these were from their other writings.

3 responses to “My Musing ~ Gone by Midnight and Other Stories by Joyce and Jim Lavene

  1. I look forward to reading this book, I’ve loved all their work.

  2. Thanks for stopping by Taryn.

  3. I love their stories, so will enjoy this I know.