A Day in the Life of Lacy Marie Crocker by Julie Chase

cat-got-your-diamondsComing home to Louisiana was hard after ten years away, especially when I’d made such a big to-do about striking out on my own. Still, home is home, and New Orleans is mine. So, when I walked in on my ex-fiancé getting to know a coworker, biblically, I hiked up my big-girl pants and left them both in Virginia. I caught a plane back home and found a way to turn my two greatest passions into money by opening Furry Godmother, a custom pet boutique and organic treat bakery on Magazine Street. Now, I make gowns and costumes for a literal cat walk. With a mother who only wears couture and a beloved local veterinarian for a father, I suppose my fate was in the cards.

I hop into my car most nights and head back to Furry Godmother after dinner with my parents. Tonight is no different. I have an order for seven Shih Tzu tutus and a desperate need for distraction after the five-course lecture from my mother on the state of my tragic love life, my incessant lack of offspring, and recent humiliation by a Yankee.

I slide my car against the curb and breathe. Magazine Street is the heart of the Garden District with its miles of quaint shops and artistic boutiques. The night air is a perfect mix of café au lait, powdered sugar and fresh baked beignets. I’m revitalized the moment I leave my car in favor of the oppressive sub-tropic temperatures. Live jazz music and the steady hum of traffic puts an instant kick in my step. I almost hate to go inside.

Almost.

The interior of Furry Godmother is exactly as I’d imagined it as a little girl, when I’d made bows and bandanas for my father’s four legged patients. I flip the switch and illuminate a row of fancy white chandeliers overhead, then stride across the polished, wide-planked floors toward my stockroom where glitter and tulle are in abundance.

My arms are loaded with bolts of fabric, a tackle box of rhinestones and my trusty golden glitter gun when I hear the first unfamiliar footfalls. The heavy steps do not belong in my shop afterhours. My heart is racing and my breaths are short. I locked the door, yet I’m clearly not alone. The contradiction is baffling, but I cannot right it when my trembling limbs are demanding an escape. I’ll find out how the intruder got inside later. For now, it’s time to run.

I break for the rear exit, dropping everything except my trusty glitter gun and launch into the darkened back lot. A man bursts through the door behind me, and I spray a blinding dose of golden glitter, then flee into the night as he curses.

I run blocks on adrenaline alone before I dare a look over my shoulder. The coast is clear, and an officer on the corner offers to drive me back to Furry Godmother so I can make a proper report. That’s the way it goes in my city. Something good always comes from something bad.

I don’t even flinch when the officer asks me to wait outside, or when a striking young detective drives his giant pickup onto the sidewalk outside my shop door and gives me a sobering once over. Maybe he had plans with the nice officer and I’d interrupted by accepting the help. Who knows? Either way, I’m buying both men a round of coffees the minute the report is filed.

At least, that’s my plan until the angel-eyed detective asks me to take a look at the crime scene with him. Amidst the tangle of my discarded supplies lies a motionless man with gold glitter caked on his face and a growing halo of blood on the pavement at his temple.

The detective’s cool gaze is on me. He wants to know why I killed this man, and he raises an evidence bag with my glitter gun between us.

My next ride is to the New Orleans police station.


Cat Got Your Diamonds is book one in the Kitty Couture Mysteries Series published by Crooked Lane Books, November 2016.

Grandeur and opulence are everything in the famed New Orleans Garden District where pets are family and no bling is too big. Opening Furry Godmother, pet boutique and organic treat bakery, is Lacy Marie Crocker’s dream come true–until the glitter gun used to make her Shih Tzu tutus becomes a murder weapon. And Lacy becomes public enemy #1.

Now Detective Jack Oliver is hounding Lacy, and her Furry Godmother investor wants out before his name is tarnished by association. To make matters worse, a string of jewel heists with suspicious ties to the murder case has New Orleans residents on edge. To save her dream, Lacy must take a stand, put her keen eyes to work, and unravel what really happened at her shop that night. But can Lacy sniff out the killer cat burglar in time to get her tail-raising designs on the catwalk?

Witty and whimsical, Cat Got Your Diamonds, the first in a new cozy series by Julie Chase, will be the cat’s meow for fans of Rita Mae Brown and Miranda James.

# # # # # # # # # # #

Meet the author
Julie Chase is a mystery-loving pet enthusiast who hopes to make readers smile. She lives in rural Ohio with her husband and three small children. Julie is a member of the International Thriller Writers (ITW) and Sisters in Crime (SinC). She is represented by Jill Marsal of Marsal Lyons Literary Agency. Julie also writes as Julie Anne Lindsey. Connect with Julie at juliechasebooks.com.

All comments are welcomed.

Giveaway: Leave a comment below for your chance to win a print copy of Cat Got Your Diamonds. US entries only, please. The giveaway ends November 9, 2016 at 11:59 AM EST. Good luck everyone!

41 responses to “A Day in the Life of Lacy Marie Crocker by Julie Chase

  1. What a fun and exciting new series. Thanks for sharing the cover which for some reason really makes me smile.

  2. I’d love to win this book! What a great book cover!

  3. The cover is so cute! Thank you for sharing.

  4. I love New Orleans and this cover captured my attention right away! Would LOVE to win a copy!

  5. Thank you for a chance to win a print copy of Cat Got Your Diamonds. Sounds like a good book.

  6. Love the cover of this book. I love the idea of a pet bakery. Wish we had one here.

  7. Thank you for a chance to win. This sounds like a fun book

  8. I’m very interested in reading this book! Thank you!

  9. Sounds great. Want it!

  10. I am hooked already. Ladies may want to consider glitter spray as an alternative to mace; I love it.

  11. Yifat Cestare

    Sounds thoroughly enjoyable! Would love to get it.

  12. Sounds like an interesting read. I will put this book on my list.

  13. I like this one!

  14. This series sounds so fun and has a great setting! Thanks for the chance to win!

  15. This story sounds delightful! I would love to win a copy! Fingers crossed! Thank you!

  16. Wonderful book which I would enjoy. Thanks.

  17. Love the cover! Thank you for the chance to win a copy.

    wfnren at aol dot com

  18. Brian Frauenknecht

    I am so excited about this series and can’t wait to read this. Thank you for the chance to win Dru!!

  19. I always like to start a new cozy series that has cats. Thanks for the giveaway.
    suefarrell.farrell@gmail.com

  20. Can not wait to read this book, it sounds really good. Thanks for introducing it, and the giveaway.

  21. I love it! Toss my name into the Magic Contest Hat please Dru.

  22. Another new series to check out is always a great way to start the week. Thank you for including this on your blog. robeader53@yahoo.com

  23. Thank you for the giveaway. I can’t wait to read this book, I am hooked. This sounds like a cluster of things to come for this poor woman.

  24. What a great adventure here! Love the glitter gun. Did it really kill the guy? Now I have to read this one.

  25. What a fun sounding new series. I am hooked and def want to read this title. Thank you for the chance to win a copy

  26. Barbara Hackel

    A beautiful cover for this new series! Sounds very interesting and something I will definitely read. As always, Dru Ann, you have done a great job finding a new mystery series to enjoy. Thanks! Also to author Julie Chase, I am delighted to “meet” you and anxious to read your book. Thanks for giving me an opportunity to win a copy!

  27. Doward Wilson

    Beautiful cover & great post. Can’t wait to read this new series. Thanks for the giveaway.

  28. Sounds like a character I could easily relate too. Thank you for the giveaway.

  29. She’s going to be hard pressed to get those tu-tus done by tomorrow!

  30. elainehroberson

    I love mysteries and cats. Thanks for a chance to win a copy.

  31. Grabbed my attention. Thanks for the giveaway.

  32. I keep thinking about a trip to New Orleans. Maybe this is my big chance. Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy.

  33. I can picture the Garden District of New Orleans in the synopsis of the book. A pet boutique would be a perfect business in the beautiful Garden District. The book sounds like a fun read set in a fun city. Can’t wait to read.

  34. Animals and an animal boutique, what more could I ask for. I will have to read this one! Would love to win a copy. Thanks for the chance to quick start my reading this fun book!

  35. Love animal cozies – thanks for the introduction.

  36. I can’t wait to read this book. It sounds wonderful! I’ve read and enjoyed the Geek Girl Mysteries written under the author’s other name (Julie Anne Lindsey). Thanks so much for the chance to win a print copy of Cat Got Your Diamonds.

  37. Vicki Highley

    This is a series for me. New Orleans and a pet boutique. Wow! Thanks for the chance to win. I have added the book to my TBR list.

  38. New author, new series always so exciting. Great post. Hope to read this sooner, rather than later. Thanks for the chance to do so

  39. Wow looks like s great cozy mystery.

  40. I really enjoyed this posting as I love to find out about the authors and hear about their writing. This book sounds very cute and fresh. It would be wonderful to win this book so thank you for that opportunity. Cynthia

  41. Oh wow….this sure does sound like a truly exciting and awesome new series to read! It is so much fun to find new authors and Julie Chase sure does seem to be a super duper awesome new author with a super duper awesome new book! I love, love, love the great cover on the book! And the title is so catchy and cute! Being a huge cat lover and lover of cozies, this sure looks to be a really great new mystery! Thank you so much dearest DruAnn and Julie for the chance to win!!!! God bless you girls!!!!