Daily Archives: April 9, 2017

Cover Reveal ~ Lowcountry Bonfire by Susan M. Boyer

I’m excited to reveal the cover for the sixth book in the “Liz Talbot” mystery series, coming June 27, 2017.

Title: Lowncountry Bonfire
Series: Liz Talbot #6
Genre: Traditional Mystery
Publisher: Henery Press
Website: Susan M. Boyer

Private Investigators Liz Talbot and Nate Andrews have worked their share of domestic cases. When Tammy Sue Lyerly hires them to find out what her husband is up to—again—they expect to find it’s something looney but harmless. After all, this is the guy who claims to have been a DEA agent, a champion bull rider, and a NASCAR driver. When he turns up dead, Tammy is the prime suspect. Liz and Nate must dig through small town gossip and long buried secrets to keep Tammy Sue out of jail and keep themselves alive.

About the author
Susan M. Boyer’s debut novel, Lowcountry Boil, won the Agatha Award for Best First Novel, the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense, and garnered several other nominations, including the Macavity. The third, Lowcountry Boneyard, was a Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance (SIBA) Okra Pick, a Daphne du Maurier Award finalist, and short-listed for the Pat Conroy Beach Music Mystery Prize. Susan loves beaches, Southern food, and small towns where everyone knows everyone, and everyone has crazy relatives. You’ll find all of the above in her novels. She lives in Greenville, SC, with her husband and an inordinate number of houseplants.

Book is available for pre-order at retail and online booksellers.

My Musing ~ The Good Byline by Jill Orr

The Good Byline by Jill Orr is the first book in the NEW “Riley Ellison” mystery series. Publisher: Prospect Park Books, April 11, 2017

the-good-bylineMeet Riley Ellison, a quirky young library assistant who has become known in her hometown of Tuttle Corner, Virginia, as Riley Bless-Her-Heart. Riley’s odd habit of living vicariously through people she reads about in the obituary pages hits a little too close to home when she is asked to write one for her childhood best friend, Jordan James. Jordan’s unexpected suicide has left Riley desperate to understand why a young woman with so much to live for would suddenly opt out, so she steps out of her comfort zone and into the role of obituary writer.

Things get messy, however, when Jordan’s co-worker, a paranoid reporter with a penchant for conspiracy theories, convinces Riley that Jordan’s death was no suicide. He leads her down a dangerous path toward organized crime, secret lovers, and suspicious taco trucks. Eventually, Riley’s serpentine hunt for the truth leads to a discovery that puts everything she holds dear—her job, the people she loves, and even her life—in danger. Will writing this obituary be the death of her?

A new girl is in town and her name if Riley otherwise known as the obit girl. When she learned of her friend’s death, her parents wanted Riley to write her obit, but Riley feels something is amiss in her death and when she teams up with newspaper reporter, look out because Riley is on a mission to “write” a wrong.

This was a fun read that was hard to put down, quickly becoming a page turner. The narrative was nicely done putting me in the middle of all the action as I rooted for Riley with each step she took to uncover the truth. The mystery was strategically set-up to increase the suspense factor and kept me intrigued in all that was happening in Tuttle Corner. Her friend’s death, the mobsters, the newspaper reporter and her personal life all played pivotal roles in the outcome of this engaging tale. This was a delightfully amusing adventure in the life of Riley Ellison who tickled my funny bone with her internal obit-type dialogue. I look forward to the next book in this wonderfully humorous debut series.

FTC Full Disclosure – I received an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) from the publisher.

My Musing ~ Kale to the Queen by Nell Hampton

Kale to the Queen by Nell Hampton is the first book in the NEW “Kensington Palace Chef” mystery series. Publisher: Crooked Lane Books, April 11, 2017

kale-to-the-queenChef Carrie Ann Cole is about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime–an assignment as the new Personal Chef to the Royal Family at Kensington Palace. But no sooner has Carrie Ann touched down across the pond and donned her apron than a dead body crops up beneath the royal kale beds.

With one assistant dead and the other soon under suspicion for his murder, Carrie Ann is scrambling to keep her kitchen up and running. Not to mention she gets off to an immediate bad start with the tempestuous Royal Chef Butterbottom, who has a bitter taste in his mouth since the prestigious position in the Royal Family’s kitchen was given to an “over-privileged, under-educated American chef.”

But the Royal Family’s appetites wait for no one, and Carrie Ann must solve the murder and still get supper on the table on time–even with the annoyingly handsome Head of Security Ian Gordon tracking her every move like an MI6 agent. Suspects abound as an American chef adds a bit of spice to the traditional royal household in the first in Nell Hampton’s charming and tasty Kensington Palace Chef Mystery series, Kale to the Queen.

This was an enjoyable read. The mystery was nicely done and kept me glued to all that was happening with Carrie Ann and her friends. A murder takes place and believing in her assistant’s innocence, Carrie Ann sets out to find a killer hiding in plain sight. The multi-plot story immediately became a page turner as I couldn’t put this book down until I knew the outcome of this well-executed whodunit. The mystery was executed with flair that kept me engaged in this fast-paced and action-packed drama. With a slew of suspects, the author did a great job in narrowing down the list with plenty of twists and turns, until there was only one person standing – the killer. Carrie Ann is likable and the supporting cast kept me entertained with their antics, even Chef Butterbottom. This was a fun read and I look forward to more adventures with this group in the next book in this delightfully charming new series.

FTC Full Disclosure – I received a digital ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley.