A Day in the Life of Gemma Doyle by Vicki Delany

I always enjoy hosting authors in the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium. Readers love meeting them, and I’ve found most writers to be nice, friendly people, happy to have the chance to be here, meet readers, and talk about their books.

Today, we’re having not just any author, but none other than Renalta Van Markoff herself, creator of the hugely successful Hudson and Holmes series of pastiche novels. Her newest book, Hudson House, came out only this week, and she cancelled all her scheduled appearances when she decided on a whim to come to Cape Cod for the weekend. Her publisher and publicist must have been tearing their hair out. They persuaded her to do one book signing at least. And the closest store to her vacation destination happened to be mine. It was a bit of a scramble to put something on at the last minute, but it all fell into place.

Van Markoff herself came in on Thursday, supposedly to make sure my shop could accommodate an author of her standing. Can’t say I was impressed: rude, obnoxious, demanding are words that come to mind. I felt rather sorry for her publicist and personal assistant.

Her books are not for everyone. They are certainly not for me – overwrought and overwritten, in my opinion, and veering dangerously toward an excess of purple prose – but they’re a publishing phenomenon.

They are also not for the more serious-minded members of the Sherlockian community, and that has me slightly worried. Donald Morris was in the shop the other day, exclaiming over what a disgrace Van Markoff’s interpretation of the Great Detective is to the memory of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I think Donald was about to proclaim it was a disgrace to the memory of Holmes, but he remembered at the last minute that Sherlock is not a real person.

Still, it’s just a short talk and a book signing. What could possibly go wrong?


Find out if anything does go wrong in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Holmes Bookshop mystery.

Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in anticipation of the store’s upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock’s legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table―dead.

Donald insists he didn’t do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author’s bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta’s depiction of the Great Detective. It’s up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

Buy Link

# # # # # # # # # # #

Giveaway: Leave a comment below for your chance to win a hardcover copy of Body on Baker Street. U.S. entries only, please. The giveaway ends September 18, 2017. Good luck everyone!

# # # # # # # # # # #

About the author
Vicki Delany is one of Canada’s most prolific and varied crime writers and a national bestseller in the U.S. She has written more than twenty-five books: clever cozies to Gothic thrillers to gritty police procedurals, to historical fiction and novellas for adult literacy. Under the name of Eva Gates, she writes the Lighthouse Library cozy series for Penguin Random House. Her newest novel is Body on Baker Street, the second in the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop series from Crooked Lane.

Vicki is the past president of the Crime Writers of Canada. Her work has been nominated for the Derringer, the Bony Blithe, the Ontario Library Association Golden Oak, and the Arthur Ellis Awards.

Visit Vicki at vickidelany.com, on Facebook and on @vickidelany

All comments are welcomed.

44 responses to “A Day in the Life of Gemma Doyle by Vicki Delany

  1. This book looks really good. Vicki is a new to me Author. I will have to go check out her books. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  2. A cozy with an Sherlock Holmes connection? Sounds like a series I would really enjoy. Thanks for the introduction to Gemma Doyle!

  3. Sounds like a book I would love to read because I just can’t believe an author would be rude or demanding.

    • Sometimes, you just gotta use your imagination! I too have never encountered any rude authors, but I have heard of some, one quite recently.

  4. I enjoyed the first book so I definitely want to try this one. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity.

  5. A Bookstore and a murder…perfect.

  6. Thanks so very much for hosting Vicki Delany and her latest book on your blog. What better setting than a bookstore for a mystery/murder to take place. Your blog is so informative and I love reading it each day.

  7. Thanks for this great feature and giveaway. Vicki’s novels are captivating and intriguing. I have read the series set in Canada, B.C. and Ontario and enjoyed every book. This new novel sounds intriguing.

  8. It was probably a lot of fun to invent an obnoxious author and bump her off! Pure imagination or a mix of people you have met?

  9. This series is on my wish list. Thank you for the chance to win.

  10. “What could possibly go wrong?” Five words that spell disaster!

  11. Sounds like a great second book in this fun series. Thanks for sharing Dru Ann and reminding me it was out, Thanks Vicki for your generous offer!

  12. I love the name Renalta Van Markoff — perfect snooty writer name!

  13. Wow, thank you for the giveaway. I am hooked on this book, I missed the first book when it came out so I will be hitting the library to see if they have it. I could start an after Harvey tbr stack. I have no idea what my kids friends were able to save. But I have been told you have a LOT of books.

  14. I loved the first book of this series and am looking forward to reading this newest one. She is a really good author!!

  15. I love mystery bookstores!! Found one in Dallas before the Amazon era. Spent most Saturdays there.

  16. Sounds like a good one.

  17. I loved the first book in this series. Can’t wait to read this new one.

  18. Love the cover of this book! I have been hearing good things about it and would love to win it!!

  19. I really enjoyed the first book of this series and am looking forward to reading her new book!

  20. Oh how I love, love, love awesome books by Vicki Delaney and am really looking forward to this new one!!! Thanks for the chance to win dear Dru Ann and Vicki!!! God bless you girls!!!!

  21. I keep planning on getting this series since I know I will love it. Thanks for the chance to win!

  22. Looks like a great series. Would love to win! Owning a copy of a series that is not the first in the series makes it necessary for me to get my hands on previous books in a series LOL

  23. I would hate for the West London police to arrest an innocent man!

  24. What fun reading this “day in the life,” Dru. I just bought the first book in this series, Elementary She Read. I’m so looking forward to reading it and this new one, too.

  25. What a perfect book and series for a bunch of booklovers like us. I’d love to be the lucky one who wins a copy, thanks for the chance.

  26. Love Gemma – thanks for the chance to win a copy.

  27. This is a new series to me. I’d like to read more about the Sherlock Holmes Bookstore and Mrs Hudson’s Tea Room. Sounds like an awesome series.

  28. This is such an excellent series, thank you for the chance to win !

  29. Vicki is one of my favorite authors…love Molly Smith! Since I also love anything Sherlockian, I must get started on this series! Hope I win!

  30. This title is so cute. Sherlock stuff is the best… I haven’t met but one rude Author and he was an Archaeologist so I thought he had gone bush too long…lol…now mystery Authors they are always charming.
    Marilyn ewatvess@yahoo.com

  31. This series looks wonderful! I would love to win a copy of this book! Thank you for the chance!

  32. I’m curious what will go wrong.

  33. I worked briefly for a syfy zine back in the 80’s. We had one writer who was given to flowery, or rather, purple prose. By the time I weeded out the extraneous verbiage the story went from 17 pages to 6. Thank goodness he was such an agreeable person. I cannot imagine having to deal with someone like Van Markoff. I am really looking forward to reading “Body on Baker Street”. Am hoping this will be a sooner rather than later situation. Thanks for the chance to make it so

  34. I love anything that has to do with Sherlock Holmes. I would so love to have a book store that catered to Sherlock Holmes related books that way I wouldn’t have far to go to get my next book.

  35. Cute cover….
    Thank you for the giveaway…

  36. **** WINNER ****
    Body On Baker Street is Gram
    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply (First time here - As soon as I approve the comment, it will appear here. Thank you)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s