Want to know more about Gemma Doyle? Check out her answers to my questions.

What is your name?
– –  Gemma Doyle

How old are you?
– –  Early 30s

What is your profession?
– –  Bookseller and co-owner of the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium

Do you have a significant other?
– –  That’s up in the air right now. On again/off again//not entirely sure/testing the waters

What is his name?
– –  Ryan Ashburton

What is his profession?
– –  Police officer

Any children?
– –  No

Cats, dogs or other pets?
– –  A dog named Violet, in honour of the three Violets in the Sherlock Holmes Canon and a shop cat named Moriarty, in honor of. . .you know.

What town do you live in?
– –  West London, Massachusetts, on Cape Cod

Do you rent or own?
– –  I co-own my house with my Great Uncle Arthur Doyle

House or building complex?
– –  We live in a colonial-era salt box house

What is your favorite spot in your house?
– –  The den, by far. Comfortable chairs, fireplace, no electronics!

Who is your best friend?
– –  Jayne Wilson, head baker at Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room next door to the bookshop

Amateur sleuth or professional?
– –  Total amateur

Who do you work with when sleuthing?
– –  Jayne, a very very reluctant Jayne

Favorite meal?
– –  Nothing like a proper afternoon tea as served at Mrs. Hudson’s. (Note: afternoon tea is NOT the same as high tea)

Favorite dessert?
– –  Sherry trifle

Favorite hobby?
– –  Hobby?

Favorite vacation spot?
– –  Who has time for a vacation? I own a bookstore. But, if I do get a break, I enjoy going sailing with Great Uncle Arthur on his sloop The Irregular.

Favorite color?
– –  Blue

Favorite author?
– –  Need you ask? I own the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop.

Favorite sports team?
– –  Sports team?

Movies or Broadway?
– –  The West End of London for theatre

Are you a morning or night person?
– –  I am most definitely not a morning person, but I have been known to sit up most of the night when I have a particularly difficult problem to contemplate.

In two to three sentences, what is a typical day in your life like?
– –  I don’t need three sentences: hectic


You can read more about Gemma’s hectic life in The Cat of the Baskervilles, the third book in the “Sherlock Holmes Bookshop” mystery series. The first book in the series is Elementary, She Read.

When Jayne Wilson’s mother is accused of murder, Jayne and Gemma have to eliminate the impossible to reveal the true killer.

Legendary stage and movie star Sir Nigel Bellingham arrives on Cape Cod to star in a stage production of The Hound of the Baskervilles put on by the West London Theater Festival. When Sir Nigel, some of the cast, and the director visit the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop at 222 Baker Street, Gemma Doyle realizes that Sir Nigel is not at all suited to the role. He is long past his prime and an old drunk to boot.

The cast, in particular the much younger actor who previously had the role, are not happy, but the show must go on.

Before the play opens, Leslie Wilson, mother of Gemma’s best friend Jayne, arranges a fundraising afternoon tea to be catered by Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room. The tea is a huge success, but when it’s time to leave, Sir Nigel has gone missing―only to be found at the bottom of the rocky cliff, dead. Along with the dead body, Gemma finds evidence incriminating Leslie Wilson. When the police, in the presence of handsome detective Ryan Ashburton and suspicious detective Louise Estrada, focus their attention on Leslie despite the numerous other suspects, the game is once again afoot and it’s again up to the highly perceptive Gemma and the ever-confused but loyal Jayne to clear Jayne’s mother’s name.

Fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle, and Sherlockians everywhere will delight at The Cat of the Baskervilles, the clever third Sherlock Holmes Bookshop mystery.

Purchase Link
# # # # # # # # # # #

About the author
Vicki Delany is one of Canada’s most prolific and varied crime writers and a national bestseller in the U.S. She has written more than twenty-five books: clever cozies to Gothic thrillers to gritty police procedurals, to historical fiction and novellas for adult literacy. She is currently writing three cozy mystery series: the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop series for Crooked Lane, the Year Round Christmas mysteries for Penguin Random House and, under the pen name of Eva Gates, the Lighthouse Library series, for Crooked Lane Books.

Vicki lives and writes in bucolic Prince Edward County, Ontario. She is the past president of the Crime Writers of Canada. Her work has been nominated for the Derringer, the Bony Blithe, the Ontario Library Association Golden Oak, and the Arthur Ellis Awards.

Visit Vicki at www.vickidelany.com, on Facebook and on Twitter.

All comments are welcomed.

%d bloggers like this: